Compatibility with debug units

Request new features or ask for existing features to be fixed or updated
Post Reply
mrsysreset
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 1
Joined: February 6th, 2015, 4:25 pm

Compatibility with debug units

Post by mrsysreset » February 6th, 2015, 5:00 pm

I have a few different versions of the Debug units, this project caught my eye because the laser sled in my DTL-H1001 has started to miss align. I still dable in programming using my DTL-H2000 and was wondering a couple of things.
1) Will this be able to connect to a Debug unit in my case an H1001 (not sure how the boards inside differ)
2) Will this interfere at all with the serial port when debug prints are put out?
3) Will it support running unsigned compiled versions of software I make myself and still allow for serial port debug print outs?

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4233
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by Matt » February 6th, 2015, 6:20 pm

1) The H2000 doesn't connect to any debugging units.
2) It depends if you use MESS1 or MESS3.
3) I don't understand what you mean by "unsigned compilations", but if you mean your own PS-EXS's, then yes.

sk8er000
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by sk8er000 » February 9th, 2015, 11:04 pm

I've got a similar question so I won't open another thread :)
I've got a couple of debug units (the green ones), will be psio compatible with that units?
It will be necessary to make a mod on the board also for these models?

Thank you in advance

User avatar
Yuri
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 229
Joined: January 13th, 2012, 1:56 am
I am a: Embedded Developer
Location: Russia

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by Yuri » February 10th, 2015, 12:28 am

if it works like normal unit, psio is compatible.
what type of mod you mean?
1: mod-chip no need for psio.
2: mod like soldering additional wire needed

sk8er000
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by sk8er000 » February 10th, 2015, 1:20 am

Fantastic! But I don't know if they are similar to normal units. This ps1s can run out of the box 50/60hz pal and NTSC and don't need modchip to run CDR :)
By the way I mean the 2nd one..
Do you will post a scheme for that mod on debug unit PCBs too?

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4233
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by Matt » February 10th, 2015, 1:50 am

sk8er000 wrote:Fantastic! But I don't know if they are similar to normal units. This ps1s can run out of the box 50/60hz pal and NTSC and don't need modchip to run CDR :)
By the way I mean the 2nd one..
Do you will post a scheme for that mod on debug unit PCBs too?
Your debugging units will work fine with PSIO so long as you do an internal modification (required for PSIO to work).
Yes, we will post a schematic soon of this modification required.

sk8er000
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: February 9th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by sk8er000 » February 10th, 2015, 3:50 am

Thank you very much!

Ichisuke
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 2
Joined: February 16th, 2015, 6:48 pm

Re: Compatibility with debug units

Post by Ichisuke » February 16th, 2015, 7:17 pm

Shadow wrote:
sk8er000 wrote:Fantastic! But I don't know if they are similar to normal units. This ps1s can run out of the box 50/60hz pal and NTSC and don't need modchip to run CDR :)
By the way I mean the 2nd one..
Do you will post a scheme for that mod on debug unit PCBs too?
Your debugging units will work fine with PSIO so long as you do an internal modification (required for PSIO to work).
Yes, we will post a schematic soon of this modification required.
Hi there. So for using PSIO on a debug unit (I have one green and a blue one) we need an internal modification...?
While with a normal PS1 we can use PSIO out of the box and insert it in the parallel port?
Edit: never mind. Found out there are 2 wires to solder.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests