In game reset feature

Request new features or ask for existing features to be fixed or updated
Topcronos
PSIO Donator
PSIO Donator
Posts: 15
Joined: January 19th, 2013, 8:53 pm

In game reset feature

Post by Topcronos » April 19th, 2017, 11:38 pm

Hi everybody,

If we can still suggest implementation of new features I would like to suggest an "In-Game reset feature" allowing to return to PSIO menu allowing a new title selection.
Yes I know I am lazzy and cannot get off my couch :mrgreen:

For those who know the IGR mod on SNES / Super Famicom, it is a really convenient feature allowing a hard reset from a combination of button pressed on the controller e.g. L2+R2+L1+R1+Select+Start.
Especially when using a ROM cart or PSIO holding several games.

Can PSIO even interact with the controller port from the parallel port ?

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » April 20th, 2017, 9:15 pm

We have thought about a game reset method, and it can't be done via the parallel port. A hardware modification like the Switch Board would be required. It's something we may look into and sell in the future.

Topcronos
PSIO Donator
PSIO Donator
Posts: 15
Joined: January 19th, 2013, 8:53 pm

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Topcronos » April 20th, 2017, 11:38 pm

Thanks Matt for your reply.

Although this truly optional I admit, to me this is almost a "must have" feature with Rom cart based system.
Meanwhile, I will investigate a cheap and alternative solution with this simple RF receiver from Adafruit :
It costs 5$, and works on 5V so it should be quite simple to implement. Only drawback is the use of an external keyfob.
Will report results once done.
Image

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » April 20th, 2017, 11:54 pm

I was also thinking about making an RF module for the controllers too. I'll look into it all though when PSIO's production settles. One project at a time :D

User avatar
keropi
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 39
Joined: January 8th, 2013, 5:37 am
Location: Greece

Re: In game reset feature

Post by keropi » April 20th, 2017, 11:57 pm

Both will be welcomed upgrades! :clap

UK_robbie
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 9
Joined: December 7th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Re: In game reset feature

Post by UK_robbie » March 16th, 2019, 7:54 am

I ended up getting a RF relay, soldering two wires to the reset button to it and using the 3.5V line to power it from under the power pin socket near the power switch.
Then taken the RF remote apart and soldered it inside my Wireless game controller with a micro switch.

Works great and no need to get up to reset the system anymore. :-)

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » March 16th, 2019, 3:17 pm

UK_robbie wrote:
March 16th, 2019, 7:54 am
I ended up getting a RF relay, soldering two wires to the reset button to it and using the 3.5V line to power it from under the power pin socket near the power switch.
Then taken the RF remote apart and soldered it inside my Wireless game controller with a micro switch.

Works great and no need to get up to reset the system anymore. :-)
That's one way of doing it :P

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 19th, 2019, 11:27 pm

I received my PSIO a couple of days ago and this is a feature I was thinking of adding too.
Currently looking into how this could be done with something like an arduino nano or similar, with minimal extra hardware.

From the looks of the schematic, the reset switch goes to the power supply board and when pressed grounds the input to a System Resetting IC made by Renesas.
I'll have to look into what current can be sinked into an arduino uno IO pin. It might be possible to just connect it to the IO and pull the pin low whenever a certain combination is pressed.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » June 20th, 2019, 12:27 am

The controller port can't control the parallel port directly, but we'll try to add it in software. My concern though is it might break some games, but we'll give it a shot. Otherwise, the only way is by hardware.

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 20th, 2019, 12:41 am

If my thing works then I'm fine with the mod, more so if it might break some games.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 389
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » June 20th, 2019, 12:52 am

Matt wrote:
June 20th, 2019, 12:27 am
The controller port can't control the parallel port directly, but we'll try to add it in software. My concern though is it might break some games, but we'll give it a shot. Otherwise, the only way is by hardware.
Software in-game reset broke a ton of games in OPL for PS2.
Oh I know there's comfort in sadness
But I try to distinguish these passing emotions
My unimportant existence
From the great machine of the world's indifference

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 20th, 2019, 12:13 pm

Well, I got this done today : https://github.com/pyroesp/PlayStation-1-Reset-Mod
It compiles in the arduino IDE so ...
Still untested, don't know if I'll have time tomorrow to hook it up and try. I'll update when I have new info.


*I'm not responsible for anything you do with this.

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 20th, 2019, 9:22 pm

Update: Looks like it's working after some tweaking of the code.
I'm uploading a video to show it working right now.

https://youtu.be/H-n-7R_S09U

Currently the arduino gets its power from the USB 5V, but should be fine on the PS1 3.5V.
In total you'll have 6 wires to solder:
- 3 wires for controller data
- 1 wire for reset
- 2 wires for power

Don't have time to draw a schematic right now, that'll have to wait.

solidcore
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: December 31st, 2018, 4:35 am

Re: In game reset feature

Post by solidcore » June 20th, 2019, 11:51 pm

I like the idea of a reset, holding start select and all shoulder buttons should be sufficient not to cause any accidental compatibility issues unless some games use that to skip FMV's etc.

Matt, could it be a combination of bad pull down/pull ups on signal(s) cause a reset? ever caused a reset accidentally during dev? food for thought :)

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » June 21st, 2019, 12:15 am

That's really nice 'pyroesp', but don't use the reset on the power supply. Use the reset line on the parallel port!

What do you mean 'solidcore'?

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 389
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » June 21st, 2019, 12:17 am

solidcore wrote:
June 20th, 2019, 11:51 pm
I like the idea of a reset, holding start select and all shoulder buttons should be sufficient not to cause any accidental compatibility issues unless some games use that to skip FMV's etc.
Yes, some games do just that, but it's not even the biggest issue. Implementing a software in-game reset means screwing around with the memory and that will cause severe compatibility issues, as it did with OPL on PS2.
Oh I know there's comfort in sadness
But I try to distinguish these passing emotions
My unimportant existence
From the great machine of the world's indifference

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 21st, 2019, 2:36 am

Matt, I'll look into using the reset of the parallel port. I didn't see that you could do it from there. Probably better and safer instead of probing on the power supply board :D .

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2057
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Matt » June 21st, 2019, 4:23 am

pyroesp wrote:
June 21st, 2019, 2:36 am
Matt, I'll look into using the reset of the parallel port. I didn't see that you could do it from there. Probably better and safer instead of probing on the power supply board :D .
Pin 2 on the parallel port is reset. Use a 10K resistor with 3.3 volts to pull it if need be. Yeah, stay clear of the power supply as it will be much safer (even though it's on the secondary and isolated, it's best to not poke hands around there).

User avatar
pyroesp
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: December 26th, 2018, 12:20 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5502
Contact:

Re: In game reset feature

Post by pyroesp » June 21st, 2019, 6:01 pm

Pin 2 on the parallel port is reset
Thanks, I saw it in the service manual too. I'll be using that.

I've come to realize that there might be an issue with the way I've programmed the reset.
The memory card and controller share the same slave select (and obviously the cmd/data/clk is shared by all).
I am currently only looking at the DATA signal as my MOSI to the arduino nano, which means that whenever the PS1 accesses the memory card, the arduino nano will read that data too.
If, by some crazy chance, the sequence necessary to reset the playstation is sent by the memory card (for a normal controller : 0x5A 0x41 0xFC 0xF6) at just the right time then the arduino might just reset the playstation!

I need to find a way to read not only the data but the CMD too.
Before accessing the controller, the PS1 sends CMD 0x01. Mem card access is CMD 0x81.
I can use that first CMD to know if the PS1 is trying to reach the controller or mem card, but I'm not sure how to do this yet.

User avatar
Klauserus
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 38
Joined: April 4th, 2018, 3:41 am

Re: In game reset feature

Post by Klauserus » June 21st, 2019, 9:08 pm

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests