Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Old Cybdyn Systems bug report topics which are fixed and/or outdated
User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 12th, 2021, 12:39 pm

I have a video of the glitch. Did'nt glitch as strongly this time as may have seen before some. Watch till end of video to see stronger glitching.

https://youtu.be/y1ob5oxnQKk

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 12th, 2021, 1:38 pm

Your video looks normal to me. They all seem to play about the same for me on a real CD, PSIO, and X-Station.

This is from a real CD.

https://youtu.be/IneG3901GIU

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 12th, 2021, 1:49 pm

I appreciate the video, insightful. My last question is why is there a blue bar at the startup screen. I've played it before without the bar?

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 12th, 2021, 1:53 pm

I don't know what blue bar you are referring to? What is the timestamp? Are you referring to the static garbage below the Sony Computer Entertainment Screen? That's normal. It does that on real hardware and emulators. That's the overscan area that we didn't see in 1997 on a tube TV. Lazy developers never cleaned that up because it was never meant to be seen. It happens on a lot of games from that era.

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 12th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Yeah the same one. Well I'm confident the game is running fine. Appreciate the help good day.

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 12th, 2021, 2:04 pm

No worries and glad I could assist you.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 3665
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » November 12th, 2021, 10:11 pm

The "hiccups" during gameplay happen even from the CD-ROM, but they are about 2 frames longer on PSIO, which was recently confirmed by Matt himself when he did actual video capture. This might get fixed as they optimize PSIO's code.

I hope this exhausted the topic.
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, an afternoon that is so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four, five times more, perhaps not even that."
- Paul Bowles

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 13th, 2021, 2:25 am

Glad Matt was able to confirm it. I personally can't see any difference with the naked eye.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 3665
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » November 13th, 2021, 2:41 am

whitezombie wrote: November 13th, 2021, 2:25 amGlad Matt was able to confirm it. I personally can't see any difference with the naked eye.
Image
As you can see, PSIO lags about 2 frames behind the CD-ROM.
Attachments
21AE118F-3A3A-4931-82B6-3969B10B3137.png
(367.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, an afternoon that is so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four, five times more, perhaps not even that."
- Paul Bowles

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » December 3rd, 2021, 12:46 pm

Just to let you know about the fastboot. My Japanese console can indeed fastboot when the console starts. The issue was really coming from the aftermarket power supply unit. They won't allow your console to fastboot but after the first power on it works with resets.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest