Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Old Cybdyn Systems bug report topics which are fixed and/or outdated
User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 9th, 2021, 9:46 pm

For some odd reason their is a colored bar at the bottom of the screen. It appears when the game first loads and its a multicolored bar. The game seems to run fine but can lag at certain points like stairs and ladders. Using the USA version and the redump matches. Tried all extension modes and bar was still present. I have no clue what's wrong. Thanks.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4652
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Matt » November 9th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Probably because you're playing the USA version on a PAL console.

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 9th, 2021, 9:57 pm

It's on a Japanese console. It worked fine on my older Japanese console. This is a newer console and its the same exact model as the previous one.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 3665
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » November 10th, 2021, 2:00 am

You mean the "Sony Computer,,," startup screen, right? That's how it currently plays on PSIO. It happens on some emulators, too.

It's an interlacing-related glitch. FFVII is very sensitive to CPU, GPU, DMA, and RAM timings. That's also why it can slow down in certain places on PSIO.
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, an afternoon that is so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four, five times more, perhaps not even that."
- Paul Bowles

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 6:45 am

Yes its on the Sony Computer Entertainment America Presents screen. Yeah I had it working before and now this. My PSIO for some reason keeps using the Sony PSIO screen when I turn it on initially. Can't seem to turn that off either?

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4652
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Matt » November 10th, 2021, 9:39 am

Japanese console cannot "Fastboot on Game Boot" so it's disabled. If you want to Fastboot, use an NTSC-U/C console (or you can replace your BIOS but you won't be able to boot original games anymore if you do that unless you put a modchip with the NTSC-J unlock code) :)

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 9:52 am

Appreciate the information. Yeah I had done that with my older console because of the Japanese console locking out import games with a modchip. Now I see why this current console does not.

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 1:32 pm

I don't plan on swapping the bios on this Japanese console. Is this going to be worked on or fixed?

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4652
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Matt » November 10th, 2021, 2:57 pm

mrblair1 wrote: November 10th, 2021, 1:32 pm I don't plan on swapping the bios on this Japanese console. Is this going to be worked on or fixed?
It can't ever be fixed. It's how Sony designed the Japanese consoles, so I gave you advice on how to resolve the problem.

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 3:02 pm

I'm talking about the game not the PSIO loading screen. The loading screen for PSIO is fine. Final Fantasy VII not working.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4652
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Matt » November 10th, 2021, 3:52 pm

What's not working exactly?

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 3:58 pm

Just like Takahaniyabuki had said. When the game starts up their is a colored bar at the bottom of the screen. In the game their is lagging when you climb ladders and stairs. Didn't mean to change the subject was just curious.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 4652
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2700/5502
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Matt » November 10th, 2021, 4:20 pm

The coloured bar is normal. We'll look into the lagging when you climb ladders and stairs.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 3665
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » November 10th, 2021, 4:35 pm

The game lags in general. It's not just about ladders and stairs. The stutter during opening of battles has the same root cause (the game slows down when new data is being loaded on the fly). If one is fixed, the rest will be fixed as well.
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, an afternoon that is so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four, five times more, perhaps not even that."
- Paul Bowles

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 10th, 2021, 5:18 pm

Takehanisyasubiko is correct again. I've noticed more of the same glitching. That colored bar was not ever their when I've seen the game running without glitches. Some of the glitches are harder to notice and appear at random when climbing. I know of one extremely severe. The stairs at the costa del sol town that take you from the town into the harbor will make it glitch strongly.

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 11th, 2021, 12:49 pm

As far as I'm aware what you are referring to as glitches or lagging in some areas is normal. I've played this game from CD (US NTSC console and copy) and when you run around in cave, climb a ladder, or in a larger city, the CD drive seeks when it needs load something in the area, and it does this behavior. I've done a comparison of PSIO when it's doing this, it seems to be normal, and comparable to what the CD actually does for me anyway, but I can't speak for your situation. I can even tell when PSIO is emulating the drive seek because I can see the LED flashing yellow loading the data when I run around those areas. The frame pacing for battles that we have talked about for the last year is still there a little bit. But overall it's way better than the older firmware. If you've never played from a CD you would never even notice the battle issue.
Last edited by whitezombie on November 11th, 2021, 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 11th, 2021, 1:42 pm

It sounds like you don't have the issue we are talking about. I had it running fine on a different console. The glitching is far more severe when spotted and recurring.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 3665
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-1002
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » November 11th, 2021, 7:28 pm

whitezombie wrote: November 11th, 2021, 12:49 pmAs far as I'm aware what you are referring to as glitches or lagging in some areas is normal. I've played this game from CD (US NTSC console and copy) and when you run around in cave, climb a ladder, or in a larger city, the CD drive seeks when it needs load something in the area, and it does this behavior.
On PSIO, it stutters more, which makes it more visible.

mrblair1, make sure you're using the latest firmware because the issue shouldn't be that big right now. BTW, play it with Midboot.
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, an afternoon that is so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four, five times more, perhaps not even that."
- Paul Bowles

User avatar
mrblair1
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 69
Joined: October 15th, 2020, 1:12 pm
PlayStation Model: SCPH-7000
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by mrblair1 » November 12th, 2021, 7:39 am

I've got it running on latest firmware. Just letting you know some of the glitching can get pretty bad. This is probably the best game on the system so I hope you get it working.

User avatar
whitezombie
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 146
Joined: May 11th, 2019, 10:03 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Final Fantasy VII loading screen

Post by whitezombie » November 12th, 2021, 11:49 am

Can you post a video of the behavior you are seeing?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest