Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Software title information and feedback tested by customers
Forum rules
Before posting, make sure you have tried all the EXTDSP settings available found in the 'Options' in the Menu System! Also be sure to check JIRA if your game is currently not working and is already being worked on.
Post Reply
Mugen_Ketsueki
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 43
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 7:15 am
I am a: Streamer,Gamer,Retro Fan
Motto: Retro/Arcade Guy
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Mugen_Ketsueki » September 2nd, 2019, 4:13 am

Keeps freezing during battle and can't progress further. Try the redump files and also did all the k1v modes and midboot still same issue

User avatar
krisk77
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 367
Joined: December 9th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by krisk77 » September 2nd, 2019, 4:21 am

Did it work before the update for you?
NTSC JP 5000 PU-8/PSIO Switchboard
NTSC JP 7000 PU-20/Mayumi 4 chip + PSIO Switchboard

PAL 7502 PU-22/Mayumi 4 Chip + PSIO Switchboard

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 2nd, 2019, 5:05 am

Legend if Legaia worked before because I played it using the December update. However, on that update games like Thrill Kill, Xenogears or Inuyasha didn't work, yet now they do.

Like I said before, random games ceased to work with the new update because if you just change the timing for a specific game, others will suffer. Only accurate FPGA logic will allow for all games to work properly, just like from the original CD-ROM. If we keep fixing randomly reported games, this will never end because it's like going in circles.

User avatar
krisk77
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 367
Joined: December 9th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by krisk77 » September 2nd, 2019, 5:16 am

Takehaniyasubiko wrote:
September 2nd, 2019, 5:05 am
Legend if Legaia worked before because I played it using the December update. However, on that update games like Thrill Kill, Xenogears or Inuyasha didn't work, yet now they do.

Like I said before, random games ceased to work with the new update because if you just change the timing for a specific game, others will suffer. Only accurate FPGA logic will allow for all games to work properly, just like from the original CD-ROM. If we keep fixing randomly reported games, this will never end because it's like going in circles.
What are the odds of having accurate FPGA logic once Mr Chan finally gets cracked on the NTSC version? You reckon that is the final piece of the puzzle and these games atm that have timing issues will fix themselves. I hear Vib Ribbon is supposedly non fixable though.

Make sense if Matt implements a fall back in the next update, so we have the option to play the current broken ones again, as this problem could go on for a long time until they nail it.
NTSC JP 5000 PU-8/PSIO Switchboard
NTSC JP 7000 PU-20/Mayumi 4 chip + PSIO Switchboard

PAL 7502 PU-22/Mayumi 4 Chip + PSIO Switchboard

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 2nd, 2019, 5:25 am

krisk77 wrote:
September 2nd, 2019, 5:16 am
What are the odds of having accurate FPGA logic once Mr Chan finally gets cracked on the NTSC version? You reckon that is the final piece of the puzzle and these games atm that have timing issues will fix themselves. I hear Vib Ribbon is supposedly non fixable though.
Extremely high because Jackie Chan NTSC doesn't work despite changing the timing in a multitude of ways, so PSIO's FPGA logic is clearly missing something from the PS1 CD-ROM logic. This might not cause severe freezing in most games, but it's enough to cause issues which kill gameplay in some titles, even if they appear to work at first glance.

Vib Ribbon is the only PS1 game which creates its own gameplay from Audio CDs you put into your console. PSIO can't play it becasue it doesn't have access to the SPU registers. This is known for years now and that game should be just ignored. Fortunately, it's one of a kind.

Mugen_Ketsueki
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 43
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 7:15 am
I am a: Streamer,Gamer,Retro Fan
Motto: Retro/Arcade Guy
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Mugen_Ketsueki » September 2nd, 2019, 8:56 am

Yes it did before the update now it's not playable which sucks but this should be fixed. but few games work some don't it's very weird.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 2nd, 2019, 9:10 am

Mugen_Ketsueki wrote:
September 2nd, 2019, 8:56 am
Yes it did before the update now it's not playable which sucks but this should be fixed. but few games work some don't it's very weird.
What's really very weird is that some games are as broken as before (mainly FF7 and RE2-3, as they are flagship titles), so this is a strange mix of a step forward, a step back, and not moving at all.

Mugen_Ketsueki
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 43
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 7:15 am
I am a: Streamer,Gamer,Retro Fan
Motto: Retro/Arcade Guy
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Mugen_Ketsueki » September 6th, 2019, 2:16 pm

want this game to work again!

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 10th, 2019, 7:12 am

Checked this myself on V2.6.7. It seems the game is entering an infinite loop of retries during loading of battle moves because the game itself never freezes, but it can't load anything further.

The quickest way to test this by Matt/Yuri: start the game and go to the beach. The guy in red (Tetsu) will ask you if you want to spar with him. Agree and wait until he tells you to use Healing Leaf. The game will get stuck trying to load the animation for that action.

This game is awesome, BTW!

fernan1234
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 177
Joined: June 4th, 2018, 8:23 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by fernan1234 » September 11th, 2019, 10:16 am

When this game was working on the Dec 2018 firmware did it require a special EXTDSP mode?

In another topic about games loading into black screen Matt said:
Matt wrote:
September 11th, 2019, 3:10 am
There is a nasty bug I noticed where the LoadExec EXTDSP modes do not work as selected. The new update (Menu System V2.6.8) should fix these for you :)
So if this required a non-default mode perhaps it would be fixed as well. If not it definitely needs some testing.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 11th, 2019, 10:18 am

It seemed to me there is a problem with the CdlPause command hanging the game, so there's a chance it will work on the new firmware using Midboot.

And no, the game didn't need any special mode before. You can check a 2017 bug report here: https://jira.cybdyn-systems.com.au:2053 ... 2Legaia%22

Mugen_Ketsueki
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Active at Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 43
Joined: December 21st, 2018, 7:15 am
I am a: Streamer,Gamer,Retro Fan
Motto: Retro/Arcade Guy
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Mugen_Ketsueki » September 11th, 2019, 12:17 pm

Hope so! can't wait to play this game!

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 2443
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
PlayStation Model: H2000/5502
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Matt » September 11th, 2019, 11:06 pm

Fixed in ARM V2.6.4 which is part of Menu System V2.6.8.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 11th, 2019, 11:12 pm

Great because this game is freakin awesome. 8-)

fernan1234
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 177
Joined: June 4th, 2018, 8:23 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by fernan1234 » September 11th, 2019, 11:21 pm

Thanks for your work guys! This game is indeed awesome, and is pretty close to the top of my PS play queue so this is great news.

User avatar
Takehaniyasubiko
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
/// CYBDYN SYSTEMS ELITE ///
Posts: 895
Joined: March 13th, 2018, 5:04 am

Re: Legend Of Legaia No longer works in new update

Post by Takehaniyasubiko » September 11th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Legend of Legaia rocks. The graphics are very similar to Xenogears, except that the actual battles are in a real 3D and work much, much better than the weird sprite stuff from Xenogears.

The story is actually pretty wild, despite the generic premise.

But what gets to me the most is the art direction which is really dark at times.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest