Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Official Development, Research, Bug Fixes and Progress directly from Cybdyn Systems
Forum rules
This section is for development news, research, bug fixes, progress, changes and information in regards to PSIO directly posted from Cybdyn Systems. Do not post any questions here relating to your order as they will be deleted. Instead, please go back and create a new post in the "Help and Support" forum. Thanks.
User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 9th, 2018, 4:02 am

Try again now. I was just working on the code.

User avatar
Simplebit
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: January 28th, 2017, 12:45 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Simplebit » December 9th, 2018, 10:57 am

Matt wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 3:30 am
Did you also update the ARM Firmware?
yes, all 3 files on SD card, i have 2 PSIO ver 9510-2213, both same issue, on both PAL SCPH7501 and 5501

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 9th, 2018, 2:12 pm

So what's the problem now. Soul Edge is freezing, or your PSIO Cartridge is stuck at "Initialising"?

User avatar
Simplebit
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: January 28th, 2017, 12:45 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Simplebit » December 9th, 2018, 2:54 pm

Matt wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 2:12 pm
So what's the problem now. Soul Edge is freezing, or your PSIO Cartridge is stuck at "Initialising"?
freezes on the "Initializing" screen, is that because i'm using early 9510-2213 version PSIO

adimifus
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 5
Joined: December 9th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by adimifus » December 9th, 2018, 3:28 pm

Just got my PSIO today. Got it to set up fine with just MENU.SYS (2.6.4), but won't start normally without updating.

Trying to update with latest FIRMWARE.AFW (V2.6.0) and UPDATE.FPG (STY3), but hangs on "Initialising." PSIO version 9510-2412.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 9th, 2018, 8:26 pm

Hmm. Does it boot if you unplug the controller?

User avatar
Simplebit
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: January 28th, 2017, 12:45 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Simplebit » December 9th, 2018, 9:17 pm

also tested when unplug the controller, still "Initializing", this is update from MENU 2.6.3, go back to Menu2.6.3 +STY1+ARM2.5.4, it works fine

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 9th, 2018, 10:56 pm

It sounds like your FPGA Firmware isn't updating. Try using another SD Card, or format it using 1024 KB as allocation table or cluster size. Does that get it going for you?

User avatar
Simplebit
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 8
Joined: January 28th, 2017, 12:45 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Simplebit » December 9th, 2018, 11:43 pm

Matt wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 10:56 pm
It sounds like your FPGA Firmware isn't updating. Try using another SD Card, or format it using 1024 KB as allocation table or cluster size. Does that get it going for you?
thanks, found the problem, have to exFAT to format the card, new firmware won't support FAT32

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 10th, 2018, 12:00 am

Okay. We'll have to take a look into that and make sure that FAT32 is still working with the updater logic. Thanks for finding the reason :)

adimifus
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 5
Joined: December 9th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by adimifus » December 10th, 2018, 12:26 am

Matt wrote:
December 9th, 2018, 10:56 pm
It sounds like your FPGA Firmware isn't updating. Try using another SD Card, or format it using 1024 KB as allocation table or cluster size. Does that get it going for you?
Changing cluster size to 1024KB worked. Thanks!

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1803
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by Matt » December 10th, 2018, 12:50 am

Okay, when it wasn't working, did you use Windows 10 to format it to exFAT using its default settings?

adimifus
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 5
Joined: December 9th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by adimifus » December 10th, 2018, 1:14 am

Matt wrote:
December 10th, 2018, 12:50 am
Okay, when it wasn't working, did you use Windows 10 to format it to exFAT using its default settings?
No, the 128GB card I bought was pre-formatted to exFAT. I'm not sure what cluster size it had. I did use Windows 10 to reformat it to 1024KB.

User avatar
dark-schneider
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 3rd, 2016, 4:06 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by dark-schneider » December 10th, 2018, 4:49 am

Updated to the new menu (2.6 Build 4), ARM (2.6.0) and FPGA (STV3 2/12/2018) and now when I hit reset on the Playstation, the PSIO will lock at the "Initialising" screen using the same SD card I've always used for PSIO. If I power cycle, it will continue to lock at the same screen until I take out the SD card and put it back in. After that, it will load fine until reset is pressed again. Obviously, this isn't an urgent thing but definitely an issue.

Model #9510-2213

User avatar
zredgemz
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 193
Joined: November 24th, 2015, 9:48 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5501

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by zredgemz » December 10th, 2018, 5:04 am

dark-schneider wrote:
December 10th, 2018, 4:49 am
Updated to the new menu (2.6 Build 4), ARM (2.6.0) and FPGA (STV3 2/12/2018) and now when I hit reset on the Playstation, the PSIO will lock at the "Initialising" screen using the same SD card I've always used for PSIO. If I power cycle, it will continue to lock at the same screen until I take out the SD card and put it back in. After that, it will load fine until reset is pressed again. Obviously, this isn't an urgent thing but definitely an issue.

Model #9510-2213
What size is your sdcard. Also what format is it and what operating system did you use to format it?

User avatar
dark-schneider
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 3rd, 2016, 4:06 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by dark-schneider » December 10th, 2018, 8:18 am

128GB, exFAT, Win 10 (using SD Card Formatting tool)

Edit: I have a 128GB FAT32 card that's having the same issue.

User avatar
zredgemz
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 193
Joined: November 24th, 2015, 9:48 am
PlayStation Model: SCPH-5501

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by zredgemz » December 10th, 2018, 8:32 am

My 128gb was formatted to fat32 and it works better after changing it to exfat. Pretty odd.

milesmccloud
Just Joined
Just Joined
Posts: 1
Joined: December 10th, 2018, 10:26 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by milesmccloud » December 10th, 2018, 10:29 am

I can't seem to download the Menu update. I get into the downloads fine, get the ARM and FPGA files fine, but the Menu download freezes and fails every time with 34.5 MB downloaded. Tried several times and even tried using my mobile connection to do it, no luck. Is something wrong with the download? I haven't updated since February and definitely want the newer stuff.

djc5166
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: October 22nd, 2018, 11:40 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by djc5166 » December 10th, 2018, 12:40 pm

dark-schneider wrote:
December 10th, 2018, 4:49 am
Updated to the new menu (2.6 Build 4), ARM (2.6.0) and FPGA (STV3 2/12/2018) and now when I hit reset on the Playstation, the PSIO will lock at the "Initialising" screen using the same SD card I've always used for PSIO. If I power cycle, it will continue to lock at the same screen until I take out the SD card and put it back in. After that, it will load fine until reset is pressed again. Obviously, this isn't an urgent thing but definitely an issue.

Model #9510-2213
What block size did you set? It is very picky from what I have seen, I believe default in windows 10 is too small. Try 1024k.

User avatar
dark-schneider
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 3rd, 2016, 4:06 am

Re: Official PSIO News and Development Thread

Post by dark-schneider » December 10th, 2018, 1:35 pm

djc5166 wrote:
December 10th, 2018, 12:40 pm
What block size did you set? It is very picky from what I have seen, I believe default in windows 10 is too small. Try 1024k.
Did it 18 months ago when I got my PSIO so I don't know but it's worked fine up until this update.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest