Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Software title information and feedback tested by customers
Post Reply
samson7point1
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 13th, 2018, 1:20 am

Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by samson7point1 » December 28th, 2018, 6:44 am

When trying to load Grandia the PSIO interface just hangs after I press X. By "hangs", I mean the scrolling text immediately stops scrolling and the interface becomes unresponsive. It does not load the game detail window. If I let it sit there after a minute or so the Playstation starts making noises like the CD drive is trying to move.

I've tried both a Redump version of the game, and re-ripped a new copy from my original discs with the same result.

The contents and md5 sums of the game directory named "Grandia (USA)" are:
b747f0978466588e198067aba8cd81f2 Grandia (USA) (Disc 1).bin
68a5b15e11ae45942d3de7e7766caff6 Grandia (USA) (Disc 1).cue
35e1a7d58ee4a3b762eb600538280cbc Grandia (USA) (Disc 2).bin
664eb38c62187515e6c01cf7177be880 Grandia (USA) (Disc 2).cue
80542b81acac5113746808cc69d441c7 MULTIDISC.LST
72b4d7c23fdd2121c2fc8164ac18f649 SCUS_944.57_COV.bmp

The contents of MULTIDISC.LST:
$ cat MULTIDISC.LST
Grandia (USA) (Disc 1).bin
Grandia (USA) (Disc 2).bin

Just to show no extra carriage returns:
$cat -A MULTIDISC.LST
Grandia (USA) (Disc 1).bin^M$
Grandia (USA) (Disc 2).bin^M$

Using a Sandisk Ultra 256GB MicroSDXC Class 10 A1

Have not had trouble with any other games, multidisc or otherwise.

I've tried putting the disc 1 bin/cue files in a directory by themselves. When I do that, the interface brings up the game detail window. If I press the circle button, the interface freezes. If I press the X button the screen goes blank and the PSIO goes back to "PSIO Initializing".

Also, I'm on the latest ARM and FPGA firmware as of 12/25

User avatar
krisk77
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Lives in the Cybdyn Systems Server
Posts: 151
Joined: December 9th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by krisk77 » December 28th, 2018, 8:00 am

Try another SD card and format it to exfat/allocation size 1024k and test again, even though other games work. I was playing Grandia last week with zero issues.

Video Proof of mine

https://mega.nz/#!obYSHapI!Swnmu-BEZsty ... Hdrzse9DUs
NTSC JP PU-8/Switchboard
NTSC JP PU-20/Mayumi 4 chip + Switchboard

samson7point1
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 13th, 2018, 1:20 am

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by samson7point1 » December 28th, 2018, 10:29 am

Okay, so after a little more fault isolation I managed to fix it. I tried a different SD card with just Grandia on it and that seemed to work okay, so I just spent 2 hours copying the 220GB of PS1 games off of the original SD card, reformatting the SD card and copying them back and magically Grandia works now. I didn't change sector size or anything.

My best guess is that the files were being fragmented and the PSIO just doesn't like that. Given the fact that it can't read multi-bin images it's probably expecting contiguous sectors. Either that or there was something wrong with the exfat files system that didn't show up with the scans.

samson7point1
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 13th, 2018, 1:20 am

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by samson7point1 » December 29th, 2018, 7:07 am

Spoke too soon, the problem was nothing to do with the image but it's definitely not solved. I'm going to open a new thread on it.

User avatar
Yuri
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 165
Joined: January 13th, 2012, 1:56 am
I am a: Embedded Developer
Location: Russia

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by Yuri » January 10th, 2019, 8:33 pm

hmm, I'll re-check, it seems like the game sends rare commands unlike what it usually should use.

User avatar
Yuri
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 165
Joined: January 13th, 2012, 1:56 am
I am a: Embedded Developer
Location: Russia

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by Yuri » January 11th, 2019, 6:44 am

under USB it works, so it's something else (menu or KV issue)

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Cybdyn Systems - Admin
Posts: 1656
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Grandia NTSC U Black Screen / PSIO Crashes

Post by Matt » January 11th, 2019, 2:14 pm

Ah, okay, I'll check this out Yuri :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest