Loading new Kernel/BIOS from PSIO

Request new features or ask for existing features to be fixed or updated
Post Reply
User avatar
MockyLock
Interested in PSXDEV
Interested in PSXDEV
Posts: 8
Joined: September 3rd, 2015, 8:38 pm

Loading new Kernel/BIOS from PSIO

Post by MockyLock » November 24th, 2017, 12:28 am

'llo here
'dunno if it has already been asked before, and if yes, please forgive my ignorance.

I was chatting with a friend of mine 'bout the last kernel released by nocash, and he asked me if i could already test it. I actually did not, but he told me that, for testing on real HW, it could be either swapped with the actual BIOS chip, or flashed to an old AR device.

So my ask/request : could it be possible to load an alternative kernel/BIOS from the PSIO and then use PSIO like it should ?

Thank you, and still congratulation for your work.

User avatar
Matt
Cybdyn Systems
Cybdyn Systems
Posts: 1242
Joined: December 31st, 2012, 5:37 pm
I am a: Systems Designer
Skype: psio94
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Loading new Kernel/BIOS from PSIO

Post by Matt » November 24th, 2017, 12:30 am

No, the BIOS must be booted naively by the R3000A to initialise the system first. PSIO can't do that.

User avatar
MockyLock
Interested in PSXDEV
Interested in PSXDEV
Posts: 8
Joined: September 3rd, 2015, 8:38 pm

Re: Loading new Kernel/BIOS from PSIO

Post by MockyLock » November 24th, 2017, 5:05 pm

Thank you for your reply :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest